The Visitors Center, formerly known as the Interurban Building, has welcomed visitors and businesses to our City for over 100 years. Built in 1911, the Interurban Building was home to the Texas Interurban Railway that ran from Waxahachie through Red Oak, Lancaster, and Dallas to Sherman-Denison until the 1950s. It was also the region’s first electric-powered building and where area residents’ electricity bills were paid for more than 50 years. The Lancaster Visitors Center and State Auxiliary Museum continues in this rich tradition.
In keeping with the history of the City of Lancaster and the Interurban Building, the City of Lancaster State Auxiliary Museum was established by the Texas Legislature in May 2007 and introduced by State Representative Helen Giddings. The Museum showcases the history of the State of Texas and educates patrons on the historical artifacts represented within the exhibits. This premier attraction serves as a unique resource for residents, educators and visitors of Texas alike.
The Lancaster Visitors Center and State Auxiliary Museum is located at 103 N. Dallas Avenue, Lancaster, TX 75146.